Wetlands International South Asia welcomes its newly elected Governing Body members

Home » News » Healthy Wetland Nature » Capacity development » Wetlands International South Asia welcomes its newly elected Governing Body members

The Twenty-Fifth Meeting of the Governing Body (Extraordinary) of Wetlands International South Asia was held on July 25, 2023 at the Wetlands International South Asia’s New Delhi office. Dr Sidharth Kaul, President, Wetlands International South Asia welcomed the following elected members:

  • Prof C.K Varshney (Professor Emeritus, Environmental Sciences, Jawaharlal Nehru University, New Delhi)
  • Prof K.V. Jayakumar (Professor Emeritus at the National Institute of Technology (NIT) Warangal, Telangana)
  • Prof J.K. Garg (Director of Tribhuvan College of Environment and Development Sciences, Nalanda University Centre, Neemrana, Rajasthan)
  • Dr Lalitha Vijayan (Honorary Director of the Salim Ali Foundation, Kerala)
  • Dr Sara Ahmed (Adjunct Professor at the Indian Institute of Science Education and Research, Pune and the Founder of the Living Waters Museum)
  • Mr Pijush Sinha (Board Member, Avendus Finance Private Limited, Mumbai, Maharashtra)
  • Prof B.B. Dhar (Chairman, the Accreditation Committee, Quality Council of India)
  • Dr Manoj P. Samuel (Executive Director of Centre for Water Resources Development and Management (CWRDM), Kozhikode, Kerala)
  • Prof M.N. Murty (Formerly Professor of Economics, Institute of Economic Growth, University Enclave, New Delhi, currently an adjunct Professor at the Amrita Center for Economics & Governance (ACEG), Amrita Vishwa Vidyapeetham. Amritapuri, Kerala)

The Governing Body nominated Prof J K Garg as the Vice-President and Mr Pijush Sinha as the Treasurer for the triennium. The Governing Body also recorded their sincere appreciation for the three outgoing Governing Body members – Dr Ajit Pattnaik, Dr Asad Rahmani, Prof EJ James as they completed three terms as Governing Body members.